XFL announces its 8 host cities include Las Vegas, Seattle, Houston and Washington D.C.


The XFL officially announced on Sunday its eight host cities on Sunday night for the 2023 season. The cities are Houston, San Antonio and Arlington in Texas, Orlando, Las Vegas, Seattle, St. Louis and Washington D.C.  Las Vegas is the only host city to not have a stadium announced with its location.

Las Vegas, Orlando and San Antonio are the new host cities joining the XFL, after the league dropped New York, Los Angeles and Tampa Bay. The league also announced its head coach pairings on Sunday as well:  Arlington: Bob Stoops; Houston: Wade Phillips; Orlando: Terrell Buckley; Las Vegas: Rod Woodson; San Antonio: Hines Ward; Seattle: Jim Haslett; St. Louis: Anthony Becht; and Washington D.C.: Reggie Barlow.

The XFL did not reveal the names of its eight teams; however, league owner Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson said in a statement that the league is “working on cool, new logos and innovative uniforms that match the dynamic and innovative vision of our league.”

All 43 games, which include regular-season matchups as well as two semifinal playoff games and a championship of each XFL season, will be aired and distributed across ABC, ESPN and FX. The XFL’s first game is scheduled for Feb. 18, 2023, less than a week after Super Bowl LVII is scheduled to take place.

Editorial credit: Christopher Lyzcen / Shutterstock.com